I am That

A black drone beetle, big as a flying cork …

A black drone beetle, big as a flying cork
Buzzed by a pink hibiscus flower outside my front gate
While I sat, trying to write,
And the feeling of admiration shot right through me
With sudden intensity, the feeling of friendship, instant and pure,
And I felt a line of knowing open between us,
Me and that friendly, hairy bug
"I love you" – Not as words, but as a direct feeling
Connecting us for that instant, and it seemed
He was watching me too.

Later that afternoon I began a moving meditation,
The form of Tai Chi Qigong, on the patch of grass at the back,
And again I saw a drone beetle,
Impossible to know if he was the same one,
But as I moved,
He came to fly around my head,
And we began to move together in a kind of dance.

He circled and withdrew, as if the vibrations around me
Were some kind of invisible flower
And I sensed the same feeling again: 
bubbling joy.

So we danced a strange spontaneous dance
That must have lasted half an hour.
The drone flew closer, circling with the motion of
My arms, and I followed the curve of his flight,
Filled with inner laughter.
I thought he would move away, but he kept returning,
Again and again, coming closer and closer, then 
Playfully shooting off, and circling back again.
I could feel the energy in the palms of my hands
Glowing and radiating, and I sensed he could
Feel that vibration, from the way he reacted,
Bouncing higher into the air as I pushed,
Sinking closer as I pulled.

The neighbor's cat came and rubbed at my ankles,
As she often does, and I expected the beetle to
Move away, but our strange dance continued,
The three of us in synchronicity,

And all of nature shone 
As we danced together
In the afternoon sun.


Leave a comment

Why Write?

Words are ethereal containers that carry meaning between minds and hearts. They connect us when we share those meanings. We can fill our words with whatever we love. Within and in between each carefully chosen word, each sentence, are many gifts. Feel their flow. Absorb their infinite spaces. Splash in their meaning.

Newsletter